Mrs I'Anson has lived during the reigns of five British Sov

Shared note

Mrs I'Anson has lived during the reigns of five British Sov
ereigns: George III, George IV, William IV, Queen Victoria and Edward VII.
At the time of her arrival with her husband and a baby son on 20th July, 1839, in the 'City of Adelaide,' the Governor (Gawler) of the Colony was living in a thatched cottage on North Terrace; the greater part of the site of the city was dense scrub.
Mrs I'Anson says: 'Provisions were very scarce, and I well remember our first Sunday's dinner, which was a sheep's head and pluck, for which we paid 2/6, and thought ourselves lucky to get that. We had to wait while the sheep was killed and dressed.
I remember attending Colonel Light's funeral, and saw him interred under the present monument in Light Square.
We lived in Currie Street for about two and a half years. The city then consisted of but few houses, principally pise walls with thatched roof. I then went to reside at Dry Creek, my husband farming on a small scale. We lived there for about nine years, and during that time experienced many vicissitudes.
On one occasion having walked into town, a distance of five miles, I was, on my return journey, caught in a thunder storm at walkerville, and being dark, lost my way, and was wandering about for six hours; fell into a ditch just as a neighbour found me.
I well remember on another occasion riding in a bullock dray from Adelaide, this being the only conveyance on the roads in those days. Attached to the dray were four young bullocks. They bolted and capsized the dray, throwing me and my baby out. I received a severe cut on my head, which no doubt would have proved serious but for the thick velvet bonnet I wore. The baby escaped unhurt.
I have often seen a man with a German wagon loaded with wood coming down from the hills with his wife at one end of the yoke and a bullock at the other. I have also seen a similar team with a forked stick ploughing rows for peas.
Another item of note was a man carting milk through Adelaide with a bullock drawing a cart.
We removed from Dry Creek to One Tree Hill, where we had many hardships to endure, having to pay as much as £10 for a bag of flour, and bad at that, with a family of ten and a sick husband to provide for; this being the time of the diggings in Victoria. '

Given names Surname Sosa Birth Place Death Age Place Last change
Given names Surname Age Given names Surname Age Marriage Place Last change
Media objects
Media Title Individuals Families Sources Last change
Sources
Title Abbreviation Author Publication Individuals Families Media objects Shared notes Last change
Repositories
Repository name Sources Last change
Submitters
Submitter name Individuals Families Last change